top of page

Lady of Racing Finalists Announced

NTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY - Thursday 8th March 2018

First presented in 1993, the Victorian Wakeful Club's Lady of Racing Award recognises an outstanding contribution a lady has made to the thoroughbred racing industry.

This year's Lady of Racing Award winner will be announced tomorrow at our Awards Luncheon to be held in Southbank, Melbourne.

Previous winners of the ward include Michelle Payne, the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup; Gaye Gauci-Marchant, a trailblazer for women in the industry; Penny Reeve, CEO of Seymour Racing Club; and Christine Woodard, Principal of Yallambee Stud.

Casey Bruce: A familiar face and voice to many, Casey has spent over 18 years representing the racing community as a jockey, equestrian competitor, equine commentator as well as Fashions on the Field host and MC. Casey is a regular at many Wakeful Club events and is well known to many of our members. Casey is currently putting her vast knowledge of the racing industry into educating the next generation of racing enthusiasts at Melbourne Polytechnic which she helps deliver Certificates II & III in Racing.

Amanda Elliott: Amanda made history in 2017 when she broke through the glass ceiling for female executive roles in Racing Clubs in Australia becoming the first female Chairman of the Victorian Racing Club (VRC).  In a contested election Amanda Elliott was elected by a large majority.  Her journey began in 2002 when Amanda was elected to the Victoria Racing Club Committee, becoming only the second female Director in the history of the Club. From a family steeped in thoroughbred racing, Amanda has been a passionate racehorse owner and breeder for many years, both in Australia and overseas. 

Teresa Poon: Wakeful Club member Teresa is well known right throughout the thoroughbred racing and breeding industries. Teresa is co-principal of one of Victoria's leading broodmare farms Musk Creek Farm on the Mornington Peninsula. She has worked to improve the race day experience for owners as part of her time on the Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Association (TROA), is a founding member of the Australian Chinese Jockey Club (ACJC) and was announced as the latest member of the Executive Committee at Melbourne Racing Club. 

Jackie Noonan: Jackie has been involved in many aspects of the racing industry over the years but has been nominated for her volunteer work as part of the Mt Wycheproof Race Club Committee. A member of the club since 2004, Jackie's passion and energy for the success of the Mt Wycheproof Cup is limitless. Under her guidance, the Cup meeting has gone from strength to strength each year. Her commitment has had a very positive impact on the local community and has lead to a large involvement of locals in the raceday.

Best of luck to all the finalists.

92 views0 comments


bottom of page